Beach Day – Aptos, California

The weather here in the Bay Area has been absolutely gorgeous. March is always my favorite month in the beginning of the year because of the crisp, cool mornings and the warmer day temperatures. This last weekend reached a gorgeous 87 degrees, and it only made me that much excited for warmer weather.

Due to the weather being so nice, my girlfriends and I decided to take a day trip to the sunny shores of Aptos. I had previously never been to another beach besides the Boardwalk at Santa Cruz, so I was curious to visit someplace new.

unnamed2

Aptos hosts several beaches for tourist enjoyment; our beach of choice was Seacliff State Beach. The sandy stretch was long, and not too crowded when we got there. We were able to pick out a spot easily to lay our towels down.

Aside from a gorgeous beach stretch, Seacliff is home to an enormous cement ship. It was designed for battle for World War I, but was completed too late for duty. The ship, the SS Palo Alto, was dropped at Seacliff as a tourist attraction, and decorated with a dance floor and heated swimming pool designed by the Cal-Nevada Company. However, after company went bankrupt, the ship was stripped and permanently closed to the public. It currently remains closed off, swamped, and sunken into the ocean.

unnamed1

The beach is always one of my favorite places to visit, and I’m glad I got to visit someplace new while I was at it. Experiencing new and exciting places definitely gives me feelings of wanderlust, and I can’t wait to travel to more places in the future.

Where is someplace exciting that you have traveled to recently?

Ciao for now!

xo Kelsey

Leave a comment